Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: grumble grumble...best buy Yay....

  1. #1
    Administrator OMFG I Post Too Much
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    6,619

    Default grumble grumble...best buy Yay....

    So as you know from the WiiU thread i was waiting on a check to get a new hdtv for the living room.

    check arrived, money cleared into my account, time for New TV.

    since i live in MA, Sales tax is umm 6.25% ...sucks

    TV - LG 60pa6500- on sale at best buy for 799.99-regular price 1349.99

    sales tax is 50 dollars.

    New Hampshire is a sales tax FREE state,,, about 30 mile drive (actually shorter but roads are not STRAIGHT)

    4 gallons of gas=13ish dollars, I figure, go THERE to get the TV...save a bit of cash.

    so i order the TV on bestbuy.com select same day in store pickup.

    do a few things at work for a few hrs, hit a good break point, say, going out for about an hr(lunchish time) this was ~1:30. i did not get a order ready from best buy- i figured if it is in stock, show up, get the tv.

    arrive at best buy, get universal remote (harmony 650) and a bluray player for the new setup... goto the pickup counter, give them the paperwork, and lo and behold, my order has been Cancelled....by Jose@the front desk(heard this while the woman was figuring out why it was cancelled)- 20 minutes earlier- the woman i dealt with, asks did you get a order ready email, i was like no, feeling a bit pissed to having it cancelled- i said it takes a while to get here from where i live, i ordered it, did work for 2 hrs and then came here. she calls the backroom, asks if they have the TV in stock that i ordered, sure enough, they have 5 of them..... she rings me up, i leave with the massive tv box (it BARELY fit into my grand caravan standing up) and go on my merry way, happy that i got it, yet pissed -at jose for cancelling the order.


    so now i have a huge ass tv on my floor at the house and i wrenched my back yesterday....and i have to lift it up 3 feet to hang it on the mount i got.....

    that will be tonite

    programmed the harmony remote last night, LOVE those remotes, tad expensive, but plug into computer, go i have X tv, Y receiver Z cable box and Q blu ray player, and it all will WORK.
    Lenardo

    Look up You May See Stars Tonite

    Lynch Park



  2. #2
    Ascendant Ashenhand
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    2,683

    Default

    Love the harmony remotes. Gratz on the TV!
    Wisdom:

    It is not knowing that you are right, But willing to change when you know you are wrong.

  3. #3
    Administrator OMFG I Post Too Much
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    6,619

    Default

    Mounting went,....well

    called my neighbor and asked to borrow him or his son for 5 minutes,

    and that is how long it took to put it on the wall

    mount is holding perfectly

    tv dominates the wall.

    brenda got home from work and went, damn that thing is too big,,, but sat down and watched tv with the kids for ~20 minutes, went upstairs to change out of her work clothes, came down for dinner and went...

    "the tv in our bedroom is too small"(32" hdtv)
    Lenardo

    Look up You May See Stars Tonite

    Lynch Park



  4. #4
    Ascendant OMFG I Post Too Much
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Fort Worth
    Posts
    7,443

    Default

    Geez 32 inches that's it? You think the bedroom could even tell when you put that thing in there?

  5. #5
    Administrator OMFG I Post Too Much
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    6,619

    Default

    ryum my 720p hdtv is a sony wega TUBE hdtv.

    it weighs ~80lbs

    i dread when it dies and i have to replace it. of course a ~46" hdtv would fit in the SAME spot now....that is how wide the bezel is.

    now i am starting to replace the speakers for the living room and make it a living room/home theater room.

    the speakers currently in the room are from a ~14 year old kenwood home theater in a box kit that cost ~300 back then.

    i am going to replace the speakers piece by piece, until they are all "new"
    starting with the center channel speaker
    just got a definitive technology mythos 3 center speaker

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16882325028

    after that will go a pair for the front
    then pair for the surround
    then a subwoofer

    thinking maybe the mythos 2 or the mythos gem for the front left and front right and the mythos gem's for the surround,

    as for the subwoofer, no idea. might just got with monoprice.com's 8" that is 60 dollars
    Lenardo

    Look up You May See Stars Tonite

    Lynch Park



  6. #6
    Ascendant Ashenhand
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    2,574

    Default

    Sometime I probably should upgrade my receiver. The Pioneer receiver I got like 6 years ago doesn't have any HDMI ports. At the time receivers that did HDMI upconversion were a LOT more expensive, so I didn't get one.

    I'm at the point now where it would be a lot easier to route both audio and video into a receiver, and then route video from the receiver out to the TV. Plus it would make switching devices so much easier as well.

    Currently I've got:
    cable box : video into TV Input 1 : optical audio into Receiver
    XBox : component video into TV Input 2 : optical audio into Receiver
    Blu-Ray : HDMI into TV Input HDMI : RCA digital audio into Receiver

    Now I got a PS3 for Christmas... which I'm replacing the Blu-Ray with. And that's where it gets sticky. I took the HDMI from the Blu-Ray and am using it for the PS3. But the PS3 uses optical audio, and I'm out of optical audio inputs on my receiver.. so I had to manually swap the cable on my XBox.

    So when I change devices, my Harmony One remote changes both the TV input and the Receiver input. Would be nice if it only had to change the Receiver input.

  7. #7
    Administrator OMFG I Post Too Much
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    6,619

    Default

    ya my harmony

    i got 1 cable to the tv(hdmi1) the rest is to the receiver
    i click "watch tv:

    sets the receiver to SAT...turns tv on turns cable on

    watch movie

    receiver to DVD...tv on bluray on
    Lenardo

    Look up You May See Stars Tonite

    Lynch Park



  8. #8
    Administrator OMFG I Post Too Much
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    6,619

    Default

    update:

    ordered a bunch of stuff from monoprice for wiring speakers .

    over the weekend i....
    got 2 definitive technology promonitor 800 bookshelf speakers.
    put 3 holes in my walls
    2 holes in the floor for wire routing

    installed a 1 gang (2) speaker outlet behind my couch for the rear speakers
    routed the wire to under the TV to a 2gang 5.1 stereo outlet
    behind the tv, a single gang (3) speaker outlet

    wired all of it- except for the subwoofer which is beside the stereo, so no need.

    forgot to get the speaker hangers (doh) so i have 2 sets otw now.

    so once they arrive i will be hanging all the speakers from my walls

    also have a definitive mythos 3 center speaker

    so it will be the mythos 3 centered on the tv over the tv

    the promonitor 800 just off left edge and right edge of tv

    then my "current" speakers mounted as the surrounds behind my couch.

    going to replace the rears in a few weeks (144 each)
    Lenardo

    Look up You May See Stars Tonite

    Lynch Park



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •