Thread: I'm Just a noob

Druid in disguise Newbie Monk

Default I'm Just a noob

So I have a question, but first I want to lay out some basis, I found 6 adult chat sites on my BF computer. When I confronted him, he told me they are all from pop ups, all from The pirate Bay, because he is a logged in member. He uses Internet explorer and is running vista. I usually use Firefox as my search engine and firefox says on the history if its a pop up or if its something you clicked on. I want to believe him, but I have my doubts... So I pose this to the experts. Could these sites all be pop up ads? If so why do these only pop up sometimes? Why not every time he goes on to pirate bay?

Ascendant Ashenhand

Well, I'm not exactly an expert but I've had windows just open (without asking or prompting me to) that instantly started a video with chat so I can vouch for the fact that that stuff can open without prompting especially from sites like the pirates bay. and sometimes they like to try and trick you with a pop up box that says something like "Do you want to miss out on this hot babe" in a box that many people would glance at and click 'no' without reading because they thought it was a standard 'do you want to go to this website' questions. The pirates bay...well they are pirates afterall so i would imagine if anyone could create web pages that have embedded links or things that open these kinds of windows without you asking so they get there advertising dollars, these are the people that could do it.

They dont do it all the time either. you can probably make it happen yourself. just go to pirates bay, do a search for some common word, get a bunch of options in the list, then open two or three of the links to the actual page that contains the information and link to the torrent and likely at least one of these will instead of going to that link, open something else. or open something in addition to that.