Thread: EQ2 in 2012

Ascendant Ashenhand Kaane Feiwong's Avatar

Default EQ2 in 2012

So, it's been 5 years since I played EQ2. After logging in, I find more changes than I can deal with. I've gone through 2 computers since playing EQ2 and have played a crap load of MMOs since. Here is my take on things from a returning EQ2 Vet. I’m not an expert and this certainly isn’t going to be a thorough review, think of it as a “Kaane Plays” video with my own opinions. I’ll be focusing on LOTRO, WoW and EQ2. I’ve played City of Heroes, Champions, Star Trek, DDO, Conan and many, many others but frankly, these three are at the top. EVE is really a different genre and not a good comparison. No SWTOR yet. I think it’s still very new and from what I have played more of a KOTOR with some multiplayer thrown in. It doesn’t feel like a MMO at all, personally. I only have a limited exposure so a good SWTOR review will have to be left to those avid players. I haven’t played Rift. Also, coming off a Skyrim High, sandbox exploration is rich in my mind. Anyway, I digress. On to EQ2!

Friends and Guilds
    Before I left EQ2, I was in a high end semi raiding/social guild and we were doing a lot of high end content. I wouldn’t say we were the top guild, but we were in the top 10. Unfortunately, upon returning, I find the guild disbanded and no I remember online. From what I know of MMOs and guilds, it’s actually to be expected to see them gone by now. Guilds burn out fast and often. So, I don’t know anything about the end-game content and just grouping with my daughter (11) and my wife. I’ll focus on what I can.

New First Impressions